Like every idea with a beautiful beginning we’ve come to the end or perhaps the beginning of a desire to immortalize our dear friend Princewill Okigbo and as well to celebrate all he stood for…

Here’s a peek of our journey

A call for submission was made on the 5th of June in solemn cognizance of the demise of a lover literature and writers from Nigeria were tapped to submit short stories reflecting on the theme.

The theme therefore is that of “reaching out”, “of touch“. of how our “actions and in actions” affect the life of others albeit negative or positive. Finally is about “helping one another and not helping one another”

The Competition was chaired by award winning poet & writer I.S Jones and Ogochukwu Ukwueze a renowned Lecturer from the Department of English and Literary Studies, University of Nigeria, Nsukka.
To read more about the Judges Click Here

A Total of “Twenty” (20) entries were received and whittled to Six Stories.
To read the shortlisted stories Click here

The winners were announced at the Literary Evening organized by the friends of the Late Princewill Okigbo to celebrate his Birthday.

And the winners are:

Adizah By Goodness Pius, the Second Runner Up (3RD POSITION)

The author Goodness Pius (Goodness Adebolu) resides in Ibadan, Oyo State Nigeria with her husband. She is an active member of ANA Ibadan Chapter.
Goodness Pius is a graduate of English and Literary Studies in Imo State University. The author has and is currently writing short stories, poems and children’s literature.

Read Here:


Ogechukwu Kanma Samuel is a writer, who does not think much of past
achievements, and as a consequence, has forgotten most of the recognition he’s ever gotten. In the past, he lived in the future. Now, he’s still
there, roaming the unknown streets in lost confoundedness
Read Here:

And the Winner of the 2019 Princewill Okigbo Short Story Prize goes to!!!

Nwachukwu Chukwuemeka Announcing the Winner of the Prize

The Colour of Silence By Ife Olatona

Ifeoluwa Olatona, Nigerian, is a full-time reader, sometimes-editor and
award-winning 16 year old writer. He won the 2018 Channels T.V Prize for literature. He was named a Foyle Young Poet of the Year 2019 – the world’s biggest award for poets aged 11-17, with over 11,000 entries in 2019 – by the Poetry Society U.K. 

Read the winning story Here:

Winners will be contacted by the Team….congratulations!

We're legion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *